07 Oct 2013

Teacher strike action - status of all schools

On 17 October, members of the National Association of Schoolmasters and Union of Women Teachers (NASUWT) and the National Union of Teachers (NUT) are staging a one day strike.

Below is a list of Island schools and their status on the day.

All schools have now confirmed their status for 17 October, however some schools may still be subject to change on the day itself.

You can also follow us on Facebook on Twitter where we provide regular updates: www.facebook.com/isleofwightcouncil and www.twitter.com/iwight   


Confirmed as open

All Saints CE Primary School

Bembridge CE Primary School

Binstead Primary School

Brading CE Primary School

Brighstone Primary School

Cowes Primary School

Gatten and Lake Primary School

Godshill Primary School

Haylands Primary School 

Lanesend Primary School

Nettlestone Primary School

Newport Primary School

Oakfield CE Primary School

Queensgate Foundation Primary School

St Francis Catholic and CE (Aided) Primary School

St Helen's Primary School

Wootton Primary School

Wroxall Primary School

Yarmouth CE Primary School

Confirmed as closed

Barton Primary School

Broadlea Primary School

Carisbrooke Primary School

Hunnyhill Primary School

Newchurch Primary School

Northwood Primary School

St Blasius CE Primary School (Academy) - (formerly Shanklin Primary) 

Confirmed as partially closed

- Arreton St George's CE Primary School  -Mango Tree (Year 1) and Coconut Tree (Year 5/6) will be CLOSED. Coral Tree (Reception), Pear Tree (Year 2) Lime Tree (Year 3) and Cherry Tree (Year 4/5) remain OPEN.

- The Bay CE Primary School (both sites) - Classes RRB – Reception, 3KB – Year 3, 5JP – Year 5 & 6SJ – Year 6 are OPEN.  All other classes are CLOSED

- Chillerton and Rookley Primary School - School will be open for all children from 12 noon for lunch and afternoon class.

- Dover Park Primary School - Classes 4B and 6K will be CLOSED. All other classes remain OPEN.

- Greenmount Primary School - Years 1, 4 and 5 and Green Haven (ASC/SLCN Provision) will be open. All other Years will be CLOSED.

 -Gurnard Primary School - The TOPAZ Reception class will be CLOSED.  All other classes remain OPEN.

- Holy Cross Catholic Primary School - Years 4 and 6 CLOSED. All other years will be OPEN

- Nine Acres Primary School: Years 3, 4, 5 and 6 will be CLOSED. Years R, 1 and 2  will be OPEN.

- Niton Primary School - Starfish class will CLOSED

- Shalfleet CE Primary School - Year 1 and Year 2 classes OPEN. All other classes will be CLOSED.

- St Mary's Catholic Primary School - Year R and 4 will be the only classes OPEN ALL DAY, Year 6 only OPEN UNTIL LUNCH TIME. All other classes CLOSED.

- St Saviour's Catholic Primary School - Reception classes CLOSED.  All other classes are OPEN

- St Thomas of Canterbury Catholic Primary School - Classes R, 1, 3, 4 and 6 will be CLOSED.  All others remain OPEN.

- Summerfields Primary School - Reception England Class & Year 2 China Class will be CLOSED. Year 3 will be CLOSED in the morning and afternoon session will start at 1pm.  All other Years remain OPEN as usual. 

- Weston Academy - Closed to years 2/3 and 4/5


Confirmed as open

Carisbrooke College

Island Innovation Sixth Form Campus

Medina College

Confirmed as partially closed

- Christ the King College - Years 7, 8 and 10 CLOSED. All other classes OPEN.

- Cowes Enterprise College - Open as normal for Years 9, 11, 12, 13 and 14. For Years 7, 8 and 10 there will be supported study available for a limited number of pupils.  Parents should check college website and newsletter for details.

- Ryde Academy - The academy will be OPEN for years 7, 8, 11 and Post 16 only. Students should go to the Sports Hall on arrival. All other years are CLOSED

- Sandown Bay Academy - The academy will be CLOSED to all year groups, except the sixth form.


Medina House School - Confirmed as open

St George's School - Confirmed as open


Clatterford Tuition Centre - Confirmed as open

Thompson House Tuition Centre - Confirmed as open

Share On
Share with MySpace Share with Google Plus Share with Yahoo Share with Twitter Share with Facebook
Related Services
Most Read
Most Shared
Isle of Wight Council
Isle of Wight Council
  • The NASUWT and the NUT are the UK's two biggest teaching unions.
Isle of Wight, UK